Inspirational

PEER PRESSURE ; A LESSON FROM GALATIANS TWO

Vs12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.

I would like to offer the following thoughts on peer pressure
I have been a victim of peer pressure, so I know what it means to do something simply because I want to be accepted, it’s something that when I was much younger I felt its grip would loosen with age, but the older I grew the more I realized it became tougher and even more subtle.
Look at the passage extract we have above you would realize that words didn’t have to be said to even induce the pressure just their presence made the fellow want to stop his actions and act like them, such power , such control over your life to a group of individuals.
Here are a couple of lies pressure says to us;

We are peers so we should be the same. You see I believe for one to be truly happy in life he must come to understand appreciate and love this individuality. So even though you are called peers, you are all different and that’s a beautiful thing and also perfect.

The second lie peer pressure tells you is that your peers are the lead authority on how to live your life, like really, they are your peers doesn’t that say that they basically know what you know and the margin of difference isn’t much.

There is only one definition of cool and they have it, yeah right, please.

They want to change your life, but they don’t extend the same courtesy to you.

Finally their rules and principles don’t really change lives or make lives better in the end.

Vs20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Permit me to end it this way, define yourself, believe yourself and let the would follow. Thank you.

One thought on “PEER PRESSURE ; A LESSON FROM GALATIANS TWO

I would love to hear your thoughts, Leave a Reply

